Noel doesn’t look back in anger. And comes out in 7 days with a debut solo album

The rest of his ex-band has already released a new album with a top rated single some months ago, but he hasn’t certainly stood and watched. After the split up with Oasis – and the dramatic row with his brother Liam – Noel Gallagher has just come out with a new single, “If I had a gun”, and a  debut solo album, High Flying Birds, going out on 17th October. 

But being a soloist has never been his intention, as he himself confesses in a recent interview for the german show Gesten Heute Morgen: “I really loved being in Oasis. I never wanted to be a solo artist. I still don’t want to be a solo artist, I’m not interested in that title. I’m only doing this because I’ve got two years off, and I wouldn’t know what else to do. People said to me ‘you could retire’, but, you know…I get bored!”, he jokes laughing in his own way. As a matter of fact, in an other interview for Spinner.com he kids: “It was actually my wife that said: ‘it’s time you go out of the house, ’cause you’re beginning to annoy me’. I don’t live to work. I’m pretty much bone idle lazy, if you know what I mean. I’m just “cursed” with the ability to write songs, and I gotta go out and play with the people and make albums“.

On the other hand, Gallagher makes precise that he’s not the “kind of person who’s  going to show the world what they’ve been missing”. He ensures he hasn’t regrets about the past, neither changed his feelings about music: “I don’t feel any different. I feel like I got a lot of more work to do, on the live thing, on tour. But I don’t feel any better or worse, or any less or any more special. I’m doing this ’cause I believe in the songs, and I think people should listen to them, ’cause I think they’re really good. It’s really that fucking simple!”, explains smiling. But therefore he admits to be a little afraid of his new ‘frontman’ role: “I don’t like being in the middle. I’ve spent 20 years being one side of the stage, looking at the band and to what was going on. Now I’ve gotta face…and I can’t see what’s going on behind me. I don’t like it“.

Anyway, don’t forget you’re talking to Noel Gallagher. Feeling a bit unconfortable as a soloist and having, in a sense, to start from the beginning over 40, could never stop him from writing and playing songs. His solution is to “just let it go”. He indeed concludes: “Here we go. I’ve made the record…let’s go on and sell it”.

So here we go, too. Waiting for High Flying Bird‘s release. I’ll write about it again next week, after have listened to it, giving my opinion. If you feel like reading it, please check out the new GUITARS category posts. Meanwhile, you can once-over this album review by WorldMags.

I leave you with the album track list below, together with the untraceable (!!) official video of the first single, the melodic If I had a gun. 

Stay tuned! 🙂

Carlotta

NOEL GALLAGHER’S HIGH FLYING BIRDS

  1. Everybody’s on the Run
  2. Dream On
  3. If I Had a Gun…
  4. The Death of You and Me
  5. (I Wanna Live in a Dream in My) Record Machine
  6. AKA… What a Life!
  7. Soldier Boys and Jesus Freaks
  8. AKA… Broken Arrow
  9. (Stranded On) The wrong beach
  10. Stop the Clocks

Leave a Reply

